Start > IFSHC Congresses > 2012, Kyoto > Report and Photogallery

Report and Photogallery

IFSHC Congress 2012, Kyoto, PHOTOGALLERY

Please enter the ID (ichc2012) and password (kyoto).

We have introduced new picture gallery, please check the following link:

“IFSHC Congress 2012, Kyoto, PICTURE GALLERY”

ICHC2012 report (112 KB)


The 14th Congress of the International Federation of Societies for Histochemistry and Cytochemistry- ICHC 2012’ has been held with great success on 26-29 August 2012 in Kyoto, Japan. We especially congratulate Prof. Tetsuro TAKAMATSU, President of The congress and the Organizing Committee of ICHC 2012 for having organized the ICHC 2012 with great success. The Congress with a high level of attendance all over the world, provided an excellent scientific program with new insights for the applications of microscopic imaging techniques in many areas of cell biology and medicine. ICHC 2012, beside its importance in providing an important scientific medium also promoted friendship and support among members.

ICHC 2012 ( attracted over 500 participants from 28 countries, of which some 200 came from outside Japan. There were 142 invited speakers and 268 posters.

During ICHC 2012, Moïse Bendayan and Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz were honored by David Glick Lecture Award and delivered David Glick Lectures (Gastric Leptin:from immunocytochemistry to clinical application’’ and ‘’Intracellular protein trafficking and live cell sorting’’). The Paul Nakane Prize of IFSHC was presented to Robert Osamura by Paul Nakane himself. The IFSHC (International Federation of Societies for Histochemistry and Cytochemistry) has conferred Honorary Fellowships on Denis G. Baskin and Cornelius (Ron) van Noorden for their lifetime contributions to histochemistry. Six young histochemists, selected by their national societies, received awards in a special session ‘’Young Histochemists’’. They also took the opportunity to present orally their studies in this session. The award winning young histochemists were: Jana Rohozkova (Prague, Czech Republic); Piotr Wierzbicki (Gdansk,Poland); Nadia Atai (Amsterdam, the Netherlands);Deniz Yucel (Istanbul, Turkey); Yasuyoshi Mizutani(Toyoake, Japan); Li Niu (Wuhan, China).

The social aspect of the congress program included the Opening Ceremony, Welcome Reception and Banquet in Kyoto International Congress Center, highlighted by a mini concert performed by Prof. and Mrs. Yonezawa, and Ms. Katagiri. An excursion has been organized following the Closing Ceremony to Nishijin Textile Center and Kiyomizu Temple and the trip ended in a superb japanese restaurant.

The IFSHC held two meetings of delegates during ICHC 2012. The new IFSHC Executive Committee consists of : President: Serap Arbak(Turkey), Treasurer: Hinke Multhaupt (Denmark), Secretary-General: Zbigniew Kmiec (Poland), Councilors: Raymond Coleman (Israel) and Tetsuro Takamatsu (Japan).

The host Society for ICHC 2012 was voted upon in the second delegate meeting of IFSHC and the proposal by the Turkish Society for Electron Microscopy has been approved. The next Congress of the International Federation of the Societies for Histochemistry and Cytochemistry will be held in Istanbul, Turkey, in June 2016.